RSS Feed

Habit Stacking by S.J. Scott

Posted on

Scott

Take small habits. Gather them together. Make them into a routine.

That’s it. That’s the whole book. We all have little changes we’d like to make in our lives and incorporating them into a routine makes sense. I’ve got nothing against the idea; I’m just not sure why it’s a book. Perhaps, in other hands, it might have been a mildly interesting blog post.

Scott makes a list of ninety seven “small life changes” that the reader is meant to pick from when adding a new habit. The problem is, most of them are things we’re doing anyway. I don’t need to be told to drink water or make my bed or return a phone call. And I also don’t need to be told to put these things into a routine. Everyone who gets up in the morning and goes to work already has a routine. Children have routines. Retirees have routines. Anyone who wants to make a change will make a change by putting a new habit into her existing routine. Where else would it go?

Any functioning adult already knows everything in this book. There are a million ways to improve your habits and your productivity, but reading HABIT STACKING isn’t one of them.

—–

Rating: 2 stars

—–

I recommend The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg or Eat That Frog by Brian Tracy instead of this book.

 

 

 

About Alex Kourvo

Writer, reader, parent. On the endless quest for great books and the perfect slice of key lime pie.

5 responses »

  1. juliabarrett

    I hate to say this but your review– the final summary– made me laugh so hard. Thanks for making my day!

    Reply
    • I’m glad that it was entertaining, Julia! If I can’t recommend a good book, at least I can make you smile as I warn you away from a bad one.

      But on a more serious note, the other two books I recommend at the end of the review are really great.

      Reply
      • juliabarrett

        Yes. I took a quick look at the titles and I read – Eat That Frog Brain. Which might actually make a great book title. I’d do a double-take.

  2. The title really grabbed me. Who doesn’t want to know about some five minute secrets that will change your life? It sounds like maybe very young adults might benefit, but … I’m not that young!

    Thanks for the review, as always!!!

    -aniko

    Reply
    • I got sucked in by the title as well. I thought the book would say something new and different about time management. Alas, the title was the most original thing.

      Reply

Your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers